Ramon Magsaysay Award 2015 Winners | Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi from India

2015 Ramon Magsaysay Awardees

The Board of Trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) today announced that this year five individuals from India, Laos, Myanmar, and the Philippines will receive Asia’s premier prize, the Ramon Magsaysay Award. The 2015 Magsaysay Awardees are: 

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2015 Winners | Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi from India
Ramon Magsaysay Award 2015 Winners | Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi from India
Kommaly Chanthavong, from Laos.  She is being recognized for “her fearless, indomitable spirit to revive and develop the ancient Laotian art of silk weaving, creating livelihoods for thousands of poor, war-displaced Laotians, and thus preserving the dignity of women and her nation’s priceless silken cultural treasure.”

Ligaya Fernando-Amilbangsa, from the Philippines.  She is being recognized for “her single-minded crusade in preserving the endangered artistic heritage of southern Philippines, and in creatively propagating a dance form that celebrates and deepens the sense of shared cultural identity among Asians.”
Kyaw Thu, from Myanmar.  He is being recognized for “his generous compassion in addressing the fundamental needs of both the living and the dead in Myanmar -- regardless of their class or religion -- and his channeling personal fame and privilege to mobilize many others toward serving the greater social good.”
Ramon Magsaysay Award 2015 Winners | Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi from India
Ramon Magsaysay Award 2015 Winners | Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi from India
Anshu Gupta, from India.  He is being recognized for “his creative vision in transforming the culture of giving in India, his enterprising leadership in treating cloth as a sustainable development resource for the poor, and in reminding the world that true giving always respects and preserves human dignity.”

Sanjiv Chaturvedi, for Emergent Leadership, from India.  He is being recognized for “his exemplary integrity, courage and tenacity in uncompromisingly exposing and painstakingly investigating corruption in public office, and his resolute crafting of program and system improvements to ensure that government honorably serves the people of India.”
About  Ramon Magsaysay Award

Established in 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honor and is widely regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize.  It celebrates the memory and leadership example of the third Philippine president after whom the award is named, and is given every year to individuals or organizations in Asia who manifest the same selfless service and transformative influence that ruled the life of the late and beloved Filipino leader. 

“The Magsaysay awardees of 2015,” says RMAF President Carmencita Abella, “are truly stoking fresh hopes for a better Asia.  Clearly, they are creating bold solutions to deeply-rooted social problems in their respective societies, problems which are most damaging to the lives of those trapped in poverty, ignorance, prejudice, and unjust systems.  It is also clear that through their solutions each of these inspiring leaders is building more hopeful lives among their people -- one smart, impassioned, and persistent step at a time.”

“While their respective social causes and leadership solutions are uniquely their own, there is one thing this year’s Magsaysay laureates all share in common:  a greatness of spirit that infuses their crusade for change. All are unafraid to take on large causes.  All have refused to give up, despite meager resources, daunting adversity and strong opposition.  Their approaches are all deeply anchored in a respect for human dignity, and a faith in the power of collective endeavor.   We have much to learn from the 2015 Magsaysay awardees, and much to celebrate about their greatness of spirit.”

The five 2015 Magsaysay awardees join the community of 307 other Magsaysay laureates who have received Asia’s highest honor to date.  

This year’s Magsaysay Award winners will each receive a certificate, a medallion bearing the likeness of the late President, and a cash prize. They will be formally conferred the Magsaysay Award during formal Presentation Ceremonies to be held on Monday, 31 August 2015 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines,  to which the public is cordially invited.   

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url