1st September 2015 Current Affair Updates | Daily GK Download | Awards

1. Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the digital version of Tulsidas's 'Ramcharitmanas'. This digital compilation of epic Ramcharitmanas has been done by All India Radio (AIR). India's family values are admired by the world and Ramcharitmanas speaks about family values.
2. Senior bureaucrat Rajiv Mehrishi has been appointed country's new Home Secretary. Mehrishi, a 1978 batch IAS officer of Rajasthan cadre succeeded L.C. Goyal who requested for voluntary retirement (VRS) which has been approved by Prime Minister. Rajiv Mehrishi was Finance Secretary in the Department of Economic Affairs, Finance Ministry. He was due to retire on 31 August but has been given a two-year extension by the government after it decided to post him on the post of Home Secretary.
3. Ethiopia's Mare Dibaba triumphed in the women's marathon following a sprint finish at the World Athletics Championships in Beijing. Dibaba edged out Kenyan Helah Kiprop in the home straight inside the Bird's Nest to win by just one second in a time of two hours, 27 minutes and 35 seconds. Although fighting hard, Kiprop had to be satisfied with silver. Eunice Kirwa of Bahrain claimed bronze.
4. Britain's Mo Farah became the first man athlete to win back-to-back world distance doubles when he stormed to a 5,000 metres victory in World Athletics Championships. The Briton won gold medal as he produced a devastating final 80 metres to romp home in 13 minutes 50.38 seconds. Kenyan Caleb Ndiku held on for silver. Ethiopian Hagos Gebrhiwet took bronze. Farah who previously won gold medal of 10,000 meters completed a historic 'triple-double'.
1st September 2015 Current Affair Updates | Daily GK Download | Awards
1st September 2015 Current Affair Updates | Daily GK Download | Awards
5. Country's ace Tennis player Sania Mirza was conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the highest award given to players at a glittering ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. Along with her other sportspersons and coaches were also honoured with National Sports Awards on the occasion of National Sports Day on 29 August. With this Sania Mirza became the second tennis player after Leander Paes to win the award.
6. On the occasion of National Sports Day President of India presented Arjuna Award to 17 players and Dronacharya Award to five coaches. The Arjun awardees are P.R. Sreejesh (hockey), Dipa Karmakar (gymnastics), Jitu Rai (shooting), Sandeep Kumar (archery), Mandeep Jangra (boxing), Babita Kumari and Bajrang (wrestling), Rohit Sharma (cricket), K. Srikanth (badminton), Swarn Singh (rowing), S. Satish Kumar (weightlifting), Sanothoi Devi (wushu), Sharath Gayakwad (para-swimming), M.R. Poovamma (athletics), Manjeet Chillar, Abhilasha Mhatre (kabaddi), Anup Kumar Yama (rollerskating). The Dronacharya awardees are Naval Singh (para-athletics), Anoop Singh (wrestling), Harbans Singh (athletics-lifetime), Swatantar Raj Singh (boxing-lifetime), Nihar Ameen (swimming-lifetime).
7. President of India awarded Dhyan Chand Award, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy, Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar and Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards 2014. Romeo James (hockey), Shiv Prakash Misra (tennis) and T.P.P. Nair (volleyball) received Dhyan Chand Award. Punjabi University, Patiala got Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy. Directorate-General of Military Training, Coal India Limited, Haryana Police, Sports Coaching Foundation, Hyderabad recieved Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar. Arunima Sinha (land), Jot Singh (land), Paramvir Singh (water), Satyendra Verma (air), Satish Chander Sharma (lifetime) were awarded Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards 2014.
8. Renowned Kannada writer M. M. Kalburgi passed away. The Sahitya Akademi winner was shot dead by two unidentified assailants in Dharwad. M. M. Kalburgi was a noted Kannada epigraphist and also a former vice-chancellor of Kannada University. Apart from Sahitya Akademi Award he was also awarded Karnataka State Sahitya Akademi, Nrupatunga Award and the Pampa Award.
9. Indian wrestler Anil won gold medal in the 50 kg freestyle category in the Cadet Wrestling World Championships at Sarajevo, the capital of Bosnia and Herzegovina. He defeated Efan Aeini of Iran 10-6. It was the first gold and second medal for India in this championship as previously Ankush won silver in the 38 kg women freestyle. To reach the finals of the competition, earlier, Anil defeated Tumentsogt Bold of Mongolia in the semi-final bout while in quarter-final he defeated Ertugrul Kahveci of Turkey.
10. In line with Digital India Vision envisaged by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Minister of state(I/C) for Petroleum and Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan launched Sahaj - the on line release of new LPG connections, through the portal mylpg.in to enable customers to register for new LPG connections online, as well as make on line payments for the same. At present, the scheme will be available in 13 cities of the country.
Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url